Day 194

12 Jul

I feel like I might be a liar.  Or maybe admitting my failures spurred me to change something.  But in the month or so I’ve read 5 or more books.  Uh, yeah.  I went for magazine browsing to reading actual, full-length novels.  Look who can read, after all?

One of the books in there sometime was I am Number Four.  It was an okay book; nothing too spectacular about it, but something fun to read nonetheless.  So then I decided, hey, they made that into a movie; I’ll watch that.   Got it from the lib’ary, and I just watched it today.  Okay, whatever.  Not that great.  But, when I was deciding to see this movie simply because I had read the book, I was also reading another book with a nice shiny sticker on the front cover informing me that it, too, had been made into a major motion picture.

So now I’m doing a thing.  Now I’m reading books that have been made into movies.  And then seeing the movie.  And let me just say:  so far, unimpressed with screen adaptations.  I know, I know; you always like the book better.  Books just have more time and more detail to get into things that movies have to try to explain visually.  But seriously, I am still disappointed both The Hunger Games and I Am Number Four on the big screen.  Just sort of bleh.  Meh.  Whatevs.

My next movie-adapted-from-a-novel is Never Let Me Go.  I just finished the book the other day and was just devastated in the best possible way by it.  I’m a little nervous about seeing it at all because I did really like the book, (especially after just reading what Rotten Tomatoes’ critic blurb had to say about it…) but I’m still going to do it.  

Because this is my current “thing” to do:  

Read a book.  

Watch the movie version.

Whine about the experience on my tiny blog.

What’s your favorite book-made-into-a-movie book/movie?  (Isn’t everyone’s the Harry Potter series?  Seriously?)

4 Responses to “Day 194”

  1. Faith July 12, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    The Help! I loved and book AND the movie…it was really close to the book, I thought.

  2. rebekahkayosborn July 12, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    i actually did just re-read the harry potter series and watched the movies with matthew at the same time. 🙂 but i do enjoy watching book-to-movie adaptations right after reading the book, even when they suck. the movie version of never let me go was ok. it was not as powerful as the book, but it was ok.

    trying to think of others, but i’m drawing a blank, because it’s after ten and my brain shuts down at seven these days. 🙂

  3. Tinlizzy3 July 13, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Did not read the book of Never Let Me Go but stumbled upon the movie. (Wish I had known what I was getting into!) I thought it was devastating so I can only imagine how much more so the book was.

    A favorite book was “Atonement” and its movie. Another good read, (although less well-adapted to screen) was “The Time Traveler’s Wife”. Loved both of those books.

  4. adellamae July 13, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    I think “The Help”, “Atonement”, and “The Time Traveler’s Wife” will be my next three book-to-movie reads. I’ve seen 2 of the 3 movies already, but it’ll be fun to read and then watch them again! 🙂 Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

