Day 166

14 Jun

Ah, yes, missed posting yesterday. Joe and I went out to dinner together and got home around 8, and then I promptly fell asleep. It was probably a combination of a long day, the heat, and the fight he and I had on the way home. I was still tired when I woke up at 6:20 this morning, though.

Does anyone have any great potty training advice? I’m sincerely trying to wait until Zoe starts asking to go potty, but my (lack of) patients are getting to me. I mean, why is pooping in your diaper even a viable option once you know what you’re doing? Isn’t it gross? Or is it some kind of weird comforting feeling, the warmth and gooeyness? I just gagged.

Aside from that, I’m truly feeling like a #1 Mommy today: I screamed at Zoe most of the day and Lazarus fell off of no fewer than 3 things today including a nice fall down the stairs. He’s fine, but man, I don’t know what to do! I wouldn’t call him a climber, but he’s super adventurous and into everything. We have this little Ikea stool that Zoe uses in the kitchen to see and use the counter, and he’s started climbing up that and then onto the flippin’ counter. Like, really? Is that necessary? And he just sits on the edge, bopping his body like he’s having the time of his life. It is both hilarious and horrifying.

And now I have to sweep the floors. All of them. They are so disgusting. Luckily, I’m married to Joe; he offered to split the job of sweeping and mopping, and so he’ll be the one to mop after I sweep. It’s the little things, really, that make me certain that I married the right man.

One Response to “Day 166”

  1. Scott June 15, 2012 at 1:00 am #

    I can only give the advice my own parents used on me: Just take the diaper off and let the child run nekkid for a day or so. Tell them to pay attention to when they start going, so they can figure out what it feel like when they’ve gotta go. My parents said I learned about about 2-3 times, and was potty-trained in a day. Of course, you gotta clean up whatever ends up on the floor for the day, but they said it worked like a charm. =P

Leave a Reply

