Day 148

27 May

I’ve had these same library books checked out for the past… long time.  6 months?  I just keep renewing them.  And I just continue to ignore and forget about them.  I don’t think I actually care to read them, but something about letting them go and admitting defeat seems so awful that I just haven’t done it yet.

I guess I want to be a reader; to read at least one new book every month; to read fiction instead of self-help and how-to.  But I’m not right now.  I read more magazines than anything, and even those I can’t commit to any kind of subscription and just take handouts from friends, mom, or in-laws.

Reading an entire book seems daunting.  When will I find time?  And, as is the obsessive in me, I’ll almost never get the chance to read an entire book in one day/night for a while; not without paying dearly for it the next day, anyway.

I’m just not a great reader anymore.  I guess I never really was.  And I might never be.  I guess that’s something I just have to accept about myself.

4 Responses to “Day 148”

  1. Vanessa Chapman May 28, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Why not get a book of short stories? There are some great collections out there. Much less daunting and you can dip in and out like a magazine 😉

    • adellamae May 28, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

      Oh, why didn’t I think of that?! That sounds just my speed. Any recs?

      • Vanessa Chapman May 29, 2012 at 8:03 am #

        Ah, well now you’re asking! I’m terrible at remembering the names of books! I really liked the collection ‘For Esme – with Love and Squalor’ by JD Salinger, although if you’re in the USA then the book is called ‘Nine Stories’. It’s the same book, ‘For Esme…’ is the name of one of the stories in it. The only reason I remember the name of that one is because I did a blog post about Salinger a little while ago! I don’t often buy books, I tend to borrow them, so I don’t have them on my shelves to look back on and remember the titles. You may have to do a Google search for ‘Top 10 short story collections’ or something.

      • adellamae May 30, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

        Thanks! I know; I get most of my books from the library or friends to borrow, too, and usually can’t remember names or authors when I need to!

Leave a Reply

