Day 146

25 May

Day 145 was skipped due to the fact that I went to bed at about 4:45pm yesterday and wasn’t awake again until sometime early this morning. Don’t worry, my kids did not, in fact, run around like feral cats while I was sleeping; my mom came over and watched them, fed them, bathed them, and even made them go to bed. I wish I felt like I got over 12 hours of sleep for the first time in forEVER, but I just feel tired still. Oh well.

Today, however stressful it is adjusting to having 4 kids under my care regularly for paid money (well, I don’t get money for watching my 2, unfortunately; although if someone would like to pay me on a weekly or biweekly basis for simply caring for them, I’m open to it.), I feel really good. I watched the kids. Got paid. Managed to make something for dinner. Found out Joe got employee of the month at his work (which means a giftcard for Cheesecake Factory for us to use on a date night tomorrow night! Oh, yeah!).

Guys, I made jam. Strawberry jam. All my jars pinged. I am… well, skeptical that it will actually be jam– it does still have to set, after all– but happy.  (And, in case you’re curious, I used this recipe from Food in Jars; a blog that I have followed for almost 2 years but never used a single recipe from.  Genius.)

I have plants that I started from actual seeds this year that sprouted. I am like a freaking pioneer woman over here! Except I love my air conditioning… I don’t know what kind of pioneer lady had that, but I’m that kind.

I’m hoping, too, to use some of the extra money we’ll have now from me working to put towards building a coop and buying chickens. Then: EGGS. Glorious, yummy, nutritious eggs.

Then, I think I’ll work on getting us a horse and buggy to take us around the city. Or maybe a rickshaw that Zoe can drive around and make some extra candy cash with.

Leave a Reply

