And on the third day…

3 Jan

Dear Dad,

I don’t really think I look like my mom very much: I have dark hair and eyes and used to tan very easily and had few freckles; my mom is the opposite of all of those things. I’ve often wondered if it’s you that I get my features from.

But I also wonder if I’d even be able to see myself in you. Just because we’re connected through DNA doesn’t mean we’ll have some sort of mystical, spiritual connection when we first meet (if we ever meet). You won’t suddenly be my beloved father; we’ll be strangers in the strangest way. To be connected by blood, but to not know anything about the other person… it’s weird to think about.

Another short note, I guess.

For today,
AM

Leave a Reply

