Pretending

2 Dec

I thought I had been incredibly clever and savvy and found the guy that is probably my dad on the internet; I thought I’d even managed to find him on Facebook and that I had seen a picture of him and his family.  I did this several months ago when I had first decided to really look for my dad.  But I guess I didn’t really think it was him, honestly.  I didn’t think it would be that easy, that simple.  I even asked my mom to take a look at the guy and asked if she thought it might be him.  She said she didn’t think so, but she could be wrong.

Well, the other day, (after noticing this blog was on my FB profile… oops?  too passive aggressive?  maybe?) she sent me an email telling me that she thought it was time I knew the truth and here’s the information that she thinks is correct.  A name and address that she had found (on the internet, of course– what a crazy place this is).  She had even found his wife on FB.  Now I think my dad is a dude dressed in a Fred Flintstone costume with a Wilma, Bam-Bam and Pebbles in tow.  This is a lot more real to me.  This is also INCREDIBLY scary.

Like I could actually find my dad.  Like this could be a real thing that I really do.

One Response to “Pretending”

  1. Carol Lifrieri December 5, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Good luck. You’re very brave, dealing with this.

Leave a Reply

